News

27
Oct

Halloween Book Trail: The Looking Glass

The looking glassWelcome to the first ever Halloween Book Trail, featuring your favorite YA & MG authors! It’s based on the YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes presented by the Apocalypsies. In this trail, you’ll find all kinds of posts, and discover new authors and their work. (More info here.)

How do you play? Every post contains information that will lead to killer prizes: books, swag, Skype sessions, etc. At the end of each blog you’ll find a link that will take you to the next stop along the trail. By the end, you’ll find a quiz. Submit your entry to the quiz for a chance to win a grand prize! Accuracy matters here, so take your time, or go back and refresh your memory. One quiz entry per trail.

ABOUT ME

author photo JSJessica Spotswood is the author of the Cahill Witch Chronicles: BORN WICKED (2012), STAR CURSED (2013), and SISTERS’ FATE (2014). She grew up in a tiny, one-stoplight town in Pennsylvania, where she could be found swimming, playing clarinet, memorizing lines for the school play, or – most often – with her nose in a book. Now Jess lives in Washington, DC with her playwright husband and a cuddly cat named Monkey. She can be found watching plays, drinking tea, teaching writing workshops for teens, or – most often – with her nose in a book. Some things never change.

 

ABOUT BORN WICKED

ABW paperback cover gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship–or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother’s diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe–not even from each other.

THE HALLOWEEN BOOK TRAIL Q&A

If your MC went trick or treating,what would they dress up as and why?

A witch! Actually, no, because that would earn her a trip to the gallows….I’m sure trick or treating would be on the Brotherhood’s list of forbidden activities. But if the Cahill sisters time-traveled to the future, I think Cate would dress up as a pirate, Maura would dress up as a sexy witch (ironic!), and Tess would dress up as Hermione Granger (who would be a total kindred spirit). Finn would be a pirate too.

What is your dream subject to write about?

I don’t know if I have a single dream subject. I want to write about lots of things! The following projects are all on my “someday” list: a WWII retelling of LITTLE WOMEN, a paranormal boarding school mystery, a series of fantasy fairy-tale retellings…My actual next projects are editing PETTICOATS & PISTOLS (an anthology of short stories about clever, resourceful American girls throughout history, featuring amazing authors like Marie Lu, Marissa Meyer, and Elizabeth Wein, among others) and writing MILBOURN FALLS, my first contemporary YA! 

What is the most haunted place you’ve ever been to?

The Winchester Mystery House! I don’t know if it’s actually haunted, but it’s certainly weird and spooky with all those staircases leading nowhere.

Please share a photo of your favorite Halloween costume you’ve worn.

pretty in pinkThis was my freshman year in college. I’m on the left, in the Pretty in Pink costume (so much pink! so much tulle! Was it once a horrible bridesmaid’s dress? I’ll never know.), and my friend Katie is on the right. After a late-night play rehearsal, we raided the costume shop and then went to the annual Halloween party at the Lit House.

What magical/supernatural creature do you secretly want to be?

A witch! Obviously. 🙂

 

Thanks for stopping by! To continue on the Looking Glass Trail, head to Marissa Burt’s blog! 

But before you go: BONUS CONTEST!

To win a signed copy of one of my books (winner’s choice, open internationally) – fill out the Rafflecopter below and leave me a comment telling me: who’s your favorite literary witch?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

44 Responses

  1. Erin E.

    You're really making me chose this? My favorite from BW is Sachi, but aside from her, Luna Lovegood. She's the only Ravenclaw in the series that acts like one-she's smart and is not just there to look pretty and provide a love interest for Harry, like Cho. I also love her loony personality and smile every time I reread scenes with her in them.

  2. Marissa H.

    My favorite literary witches (sorry couldn't choose just one) would have to be Ginny Weasley, Hermione Granger, and Luna Lovegood. All three are so awesome!

  3. Mick Murphy

    Diana Bishop is my favorite literary witch so far. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading the Cahill Witch chronicles yet though! Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. Ruby

    That's a hard one! So many… here are a few:
    Cate (Cahill Witch Chronicles), Lena (Beautiful Creatures),
    Luna Lovegood, Hermione Granger (Harry Potter, obvs!),
    Emma (The Tales of the Frog Princess), plus a bunch of others who aren't technically witches, but who have similar powers!

  5. It's hard to choose a favorite, I liked Hermione Granger, of course and Lena from Beautiful Creatures was intriguing as was Ridley, Sophie Mercer was seriously awesome and Diana Bishop was awesome too. There's so many and they're all awesome in their own way so choosing a favorite is almost impossible.

  6. I.. I haven't read about that many witches yet o.O But I would have to say Lily from Trial by Fire. <3 which is a book I loved. Thank you so so much for this amazing giveaway. <3 I would LOVE to win 😀 And I love your interview too. 🙂

Leave a Reply